HOSPITAL BAG

Kim

Reaction score
Not sure where to post this but does anyone have any tips on what to put in my hospital bag?

Working as a doula I am an expert on what you REALLY need in hospital, which isn't as much as you think. A few things I will advise that I have found invaluable over the years is:

A tennis ball for back massage (much cheaper than massage tools)
Pack of blu tak (to plug up overflow on a bath to have deeper bath if labouring in the bath due to birth pool not available)
Pack of straws (you need to drink but aren't always upright enough to drink from a cup properly)
CD of relaxing music (or 'bat out of hell' as one women I was with chose!!)
Lavender oil to dab on a tissue and put in the room somewhere for relaxation.
Bottle of rescue remedy.
Plenty of food and drink for you and your partner.
Flannel (or two) for mopping your brow!!
Glucose tablets.
Lip balm
Facial spray
Scrunchie (if you have long hair)
Warm socks as your feet can get cold in labour
camera!!

As well as all the usual nightware, knickers, maternity towels, towels (dark in colour) clean clothes, breast pads, feeding bra's, etc etc

The list has endless possibilities as you then of course have to pack for the baby.

The truth is that if you plan to go home soon after the birth you don't actually need very much. With my first baby I took in a suitcase full of stuff and used hardly any of it.

Hope the above list has been of some help.

Much love

Kerry said:
Working as a doula I am an expert on what you REALLY need in hospital, which isn't as much as you think. A few things I will advise that I have found invaluable over the years is:

A tennis ball for back massage (much cheaper than massage tools)
Pack of blu tak (to plug up overflow on a bath to have deeper bath if labouring in the bath due to birth pool not available)
Pack of straws (you need to drink but aren't always upright enough to drink from a cup properly)