High Nuchal Translucency and Cystic Hygroma

Juice

Reaction score
We went for our scan on Thursday and found that our baby has an NT measurement of 6.3, way above the norm :( We're waiting for the results of the blood test to see where we go next.

After coming home I read the scan report that has some stuff on it that I don't understand, and google isn't being very helpful.

The report says "Nuchal translucency thickened to 6.3mm and demonstrates fine septations. Appearances are consistent with cystic hygroma."

Septations??? This is the bit I can't seem to find any info about online.

Has anyone been through this? Any info? We're getting the blood results on Mon/Tues but don't have an apportionment with the fetal medicine unit until Thursday, and I'm feel very impatient and very frightened :(

Hi Juice I have no experience of cystic hygroma hopefully the fetal consultant will give you moe answer. I checked septations for you and this came up "Findings of septations (thin walls dividing the cysts into segments)"

Hopefully all is ok for you and the blood results bring positive news x

Hi Juice, so sorry you are going through this worry. I have no personal experience but a friend of mine was told her baby had a cystic hygroma of around 8 and she was so worried. She had a CVS a couple of weeks later which showed no genetic condition. She had an ultrasound at around 18 weeks and 20 weeks and by 20 weeks the hygroma seemed to have disappeared. She had a few more scans after and all looked ok and her daughter was born completley healthy and the only slight difference was a little excess skin when the hygroma had been.
I hope you have a similar outcome and Ill be thinking of you.xx