Hi - I'm new to this part of the boards...

Melanie3103

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm 37, just 5 weeks pregnant with my 1st. Very exciting. Got my "booking in apt" with midwife next Tuesday - 6th August - not sure what to expect if anything ? I know this varies - but if anyone can give me some idea what to expect (I'm in the UK - as I know it varies in the US too).

Also - I have just discovered having done some figures that I think I lose out on SMP by about a week. Anyone else a whizz at working out dates and SMP in the UK and qualifying week etc - so confused...

Basically my LMP was 22 June, so I calculated my EDD as 29 March 2014.. so far so good... :) Then when I tried to calculate qualifying week, I got a date in December, and if I've understood it right, you have to be at working at the same employer for 26 weeks (I think!) to be eligible for SMP... So I think I was out by about a week - as I joined the company I'm at now on 17th June.

I then found a GOV.UK site that had a "calculate your eligibility for SMP" - so I tried that, and I think I AM eligible. https://www.gov.uk/calculate-your-maternity-pay/y

I guess I'm after some advice on this. Anyone know much about it ??

Also - my 2nd question - at dating scan at the end of 1st trimester - are they likely to change my EDD, or are they likely to stick with 29 March - based on LMP (22 June). They presumably call it a dating scan for a reason ??

Any advice would be much appreciated... Thanks all... and congrats to all xx

Hi, and welcome! Can't help with SMP sorry, I gave up work after trying to go back after my 2nd baby. My mind is now mush! Might be worth starting a thread in pregnancy chat too as everyone will see that.

At the booking in appt they just ask lots of questions (I was there an hour and a half), and take a urine and blood sample. Oh and you may get the form to get free prescriptions and dental at this visit too.