HELP! what to do after mat leave... (sorry, long post)

petchy

Reaction score
OK girls, I have a bit of a dilemma, and just wanted to see what advice you guys could give me!

At the moment I work as a Creative/Graphic Designer for a large company, which recently acquired another company. Since the merger there have been a lot of changes (we had to move premises to out of town, so increased travel time and cost etc for starters) and now there are warnings that redundancies are looming… basically the atmosphere is so tense you could cut it with a knife! Although I do think my job is safe (they are actually expanding our department and have just taken on another designer) I’m a bit uneasy with the whole situation really… I am feeling like there are no real opportunities in my current role, no carrots such as a “Senior Designer” job title to work towards, and I don’t feel challenged in my role anymore just stagnant.

Recently I have been given a lot of thought to what I want to do after my maternity leave. Ideally I want to spend more time with the baby, and be more flexible. Although I could request P/T hours or flexi- /home working arrangements, I have been thinking about trying to get a job a bit closer to home – problem is there are very few design jobs in my area as it is, and even less that would accept part time as an option.

So I’ve been giving serious thought to perhaps going freelance and working for myself after the mat leave, but then there’s the issue of financial security etc, which is scary! Will I get enough clients/jobs to be able to pay the bills? You get the picture, I’m sure!