Help! Incontinence....?!

sarah1

Reaction score
Hi ladies

I have a really embarrassing problem and not sure what to do! Since birth I have suffered a bit of stress incontince when walking etc but that improved lots by the time I had postnatal check which I told to the doctor, who said that's fine/will keep improving. I've also still got pain in what feels like the 'front' of pelvic floor muscles when I go to the loo, and again doctor said this will improve.

I decided it was time to start exercising again so went to aquafit yesterday, only to find I seem to have quite a problem with stress incontinence. I had to stop doing the exercises for lower body for fear of leaking and when I got out of pool (showers and toilets very close by thankfully), I just felt like I was wetting myself but couldn't stop it.

I'm sooooo embarrassed and upset cos I love swimming but feel I can't go back now. I'm trying to do pelvic floor exercises but not sure if that's enough to help me. Haven't spoken to hubby about it yet and we haven't had sex yet either since the birth (8 weeks) but now I'm too scared to because of the pain and leakage.

Xxxxxxx

Can't offer much advice other than upping the pelvic floor exerises, definitely speak to your doctor about it.

I had the opposite problem after giving birth in that I overstretched my bladder and ended up with a catheter for a week.

Hope it improves soon xx

I had that after having my first child, I went back to my GP and ended up having 6 months of physio to strengthen my muscles. It did help a lot, but I still have to use panty liners daily. However, I had an episiotomy, followed by 3rd degree tear and also quite bad internal tearing where the forceps tore inside.

I watched a segment on embarrassing bodies a few weeks ago, and the doctor said there are quite a few things they can do to make it improve.

Good luck x