Hello and Queries...!

Sweet_Pea

Reaction score
Hi all, got my BFP yesterday and will be due in October!! :cloud9:

This is my first baby so I'm new to it all and had a few questions for those of you ahead of me...

How soon should I book in to see my GP for a referral, should I arrange this straight away? Will they refer me if it's really early days? Is there a certain time frame they want you to have your booking in appointment or is it just when they have spaces?

Also I was wondering about the scan how and when this is arranged, do you get the date when you first see midwife?

If all goes well how often can I expect to have blood tests? (I'm not a fan lol)

Also can anybody recommend any good pregnancy books and apps?

Thank you :smile: xx

Hi, congratulations! I rang up my doctors and told the receptionist over the phone that I was pregnant, I didn't have to see the doctor she just said she would put a referral in to the midwife and she would contact me directly. I first saw the midwife with all my children at 8 weeks for the booking in appointment. The midwife requested a scan for me at this appointment which was then sent from the hospital via post. I think each area varies though, I am in the West Midlands, your nhs trust may work differently.x