Guidelines for making up formula

DaisyDoo

Reaction score
I was just wondering, how many of you that formula feed make up your bottles exactly as the guidelines now state? I find it quite hard at times if im honest, i formula fed dd and made her feeds up quite differently. There are times when ive slipped back into old habits - such as when im out for the day etc.

Does anyone else do the same or is it just me?

I've been making up my formula in batches of 4 for nearly 6 months and have no problem!
I boil the kettle, let it cool for 20 mins then make up 4 bottles. I put them in freezing cold water to cool them down and then put them at the back of the fridge.
I never keep them for more than 24 hours but that never happens!!

I know it's not the recommended way but when he was young and hungry it just wasn't practical to wait half an hour to feed him so I've done it like that since then!

Hope this helps!

I make it the way guidelines state. I boil the kettle, wait 45 mins (she is on prescription formula) and then make the bottle up. She's in a routine now so I know exactly when she feeds. When she was younger and more erratic with her feeds (and when we go out for the day) I take the water out in a flask so it's kept at correct temp. It's never been a hassle doing it like this tbh.

I would say the greater percentage of people batch make bottles, even if they sterilise and add the water and heat / mix the powder when required. I have spoken to the midwife the Health visitor and the neonatal outreach team about this and they all said the same. That they have to recommend the guidelines but the biggest percentage of people don't make up every feed one at a time. End of the day you have to do your research, be sensible and find out what works for you x

we are pretty strict about this.

formula contains bacteria, so why some people think adding it to cool water is ok I will never know! to me its like playing Russian roulette with your baby.