Growth chart in maternity notes

fluffycat

Reaction score
Can anyone explain how my baby is considered a big baby when I am measuring 34cm at 34+5? According to my chart the baby is on route to becoming 10lb!!
Thanks in advance

Xx

Who has said its a big baby? Who told you it's getting on for 10lb? As far as I'm aware, the chart is only to plot the growth of the baby to ensure he/she is growing week by week and in no way determines the size...

34cm sounds normal to me? I was always told you should be roughly the same cm that you are in weeks

That's what I thot but apparantly at 34 weeks I'm following the top line and if I continue to measure up to the top line it's going to be at least 9lb 5oz, that's what my midwife said but I too had thot that 34 weeks and 34cm was just normal. It's so confusing think I'm going to ignore my chart now. Xx

Not sure why your midwife would have told you that, I'm no expert but have been told several times that size of baby can't really be determined as bump could be carrying extra weight from water retention, extra sac fluid, fat, etc... x

It's the new style chart Hun I'm the same. I got sent for a growth scan but like u I'm measuring on my weeks everytime. At 36 weeks he weighs 6lb 10 so big but not massive. The midwife said a lot of people are having trouble with the chart being inaccurate xx

I've been measuring a week 'behind' and it's plotted as being right in the middle (average).

I think fundal height only measures the uterus though and has little baring on the size of the baby because like Kitty said you could be carrying more fluid (or conversely the bump /uterus could be small but "all baby").

Then surely it's ridiculous for them to even plot it on a chart anyways? Lol. Have heard so many people being told it's a big baby for it to come out at like 6 or 7lb. Xx