Freelance work

Bee7

Reaction score
Not really pregnancy related, but kind of is lol. Basically after my maternity leave finishes i will only be able to go back to work part time. So i've been trying to think of extra ways that i could earn regular money possibly working from home. I have a degree in English and have always had ambitions of becoming a freelance writer. But i have no idea where to start looking. I've tried using google to research and look for clients etc, but there's so much info on there and it's hard to determine what could legitimately help me make money and what is just rubbish.

Are there any other 'mumtrepreneurs' out there who have managed to start a business or make money working from home? xxx

Hi Bee7

I am a freelance illustrator so I have a little understanding of what you want to do. I haven't had any work for over a year now but I work pretty much full time in an employed position so it's partly my fault for not pushing my freelance stuff.
I found getting an agent a massive help for me because before I did that I had only had little bits of work. Once my agent was on board I started illustrating actual books and was earning quite a bit from it.
Have you got a copy of Writers and Artists yearbook (think it's published by Blacks)? That has a lot of contacts and stuff in it and you could start sending samples and things out (sorry not sure what sort of writing you would be doing). that's what I did and how I got my agent.

Good luck!