Food for all the family!

toni64539

Reaction score
Right, I need some help please ladies if u will,,,,, Let it be known, I am a TERRIBLE cook, can't cook for toffee, and I HATE it, don't enjoy it at all, would rather do ten hours of ironing than ten mins of cooking!! Anyway, I'm a mum and a wife so I guess I'm stuck with it for the next 50 or so years!!!! Soooo, please, please PLEASE give me some inspiration! I need some meal ideas/recipies that I can do for us all too eat, so they have to be suitable for a two year old, I mean I know he can eat most things, but like fajitas or something wouldn't be a good one for Solomon! Ha. I mean I do, Spag Bol, lasagne, cottage pie, fish cakes, stir fry, curry before adding spice, paella and things like that that he can eat, but I need some more ideas. What do you mummy's cook and recipies would be great! I'm really thick when it comes to cooking so laymans terms please!! Ha!

Thank you!!

Bit random but I love cooking and have a huge collection of books

This is by far the best hearty and simple book I have ever owned and refer to all the time!

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/0600609650
It's by Hamlyn called The Student cook book

It had all the simple staple meals in there, simple basic dishes and all tasty. My Jamie Oliver's are gathering dust!

Honestly if you hate cooking this is the one you need!xx

Ps everything you mentioned in your post is in this book!! I never read it as a student but I refer to this all the time.

The fish pie, spag bols etc are easy no extravagant ingredients and its budgeted for students so its cheap to follow as far as the ingredients go. Flap jack and brownie recipie are great too!xx

This is by far the best hearty and simple book I have ever owned and refer to all the time!

It had all the simple staple meals in there, simple basic dishes and all tasty. My Jamie Oliver's are gathering dust!

Ive just ordered that book looks fab!
we tend to eat the same few meals..