Eczema treatment!

kellie80

Reaction score
Aimee has been given Oilatum cream for her eczema, one is a lotion and the other goes in the bath but it seems to be getting worse. Just wondered if this is a good treatment for it or should i ask for something else? I have no experience with eczema at all so I haven't a clue.

i know a couple of people who had that for the babies and they said it works really well for their skin. I found out that johnsons baby products dry babies skins i got told if i used that, only to use a little bit at a time.

I used have oilatum when i was a kid for excema, and it was lovely, cleared up my excema, there is some new cream now tho from 'neals yard' i thnk!!!! works wonders apparently

I had Oilatum for Ky and it made no difference, but when we tried Aveeno, it cleared up his dry patches within two days.

Oilatum works really well for some babies, but not others.

Ask your GP or Health Visitor if you can try something else - They will be able to see for themselves that the Oilatum is not working.

Talking about oilatum, I went to the 6 week check today and asked for oilatum prescription for Maheen's skin, as her face is very very dry, and even olive oil does nothing, and you know what!/ she said they tend not to prescribe oilatum, I can buy it myself!!! :evil:
I think it's so unfair, it's quite expensive, and so many poeple told me to get it on prescription...means that THEY got it on prescription!!! grrrrrrrrr!

She also said that if something does not always seem to work, to try to put it more often, as this would make a difference! :think:

mel xx