Early food poisoning and possible listeria threat

Luise

Reaction score
Hello and thank you to everyone in advance for your help and support! I am obviously a newbie here and being pregnant for the first time, not knowing exactly what to expect.

I just found out last Thursday that I was pregnant (3-4 weeks). Unfortunately, not long after the expected time of conception, I had a really bad bout of food poisoning. I suspect it was from a chicken panini, as until that came up I continued to vomit (sorry). Having said that, I ate everything from soft cheese and pate up until the point my pregnancy was confirmed.

Of course since Thursday, I have been googling too much for my own good, not knowing sometimes what I should or shouldn't be eating. The Doctor said to stay clear from refrigerated deli meats and so forth. So I looked this up to find out more, and of course from my findings on food poisoning like listeria, I couldn't help but think that my food poisoning could be a lot more sinister than I had thought before.

I am sorry for being graphic, but it was horrible. Vomiting, diarrhoea, chills, the works. I had total lack of appetite for some time. I am recuperated now, but of course I went in to another GP today to see if any tests could be done or perhaps antibiotics given (not a fan at all, but heard it's quite common to take at one point or another in pregnancy).