doppler?

bbee

Reaction score
I'm a worrier and want to purchase a doppler. i've found a real cheap one, but i've also seen some major expensive ones. will the cheap ones work? i don't want to get myself into even more of a panic if i can't find a heartbeat because of the doppler! does anyone have any suggestions? :) x

I work as a veterinary nurse and we have dopplers in the practice, I tried to listen for the heartbeat with it the other day and couldnt find it. ( I found my own pulse quite a few times but when i put my hand on my wrist it was in time with my pulse). Because I did this I am now a little worried! I wouldn't recommend doing it :( also, a friend of mine had a small bleed at 11 weeks and the doctor couldn't find the heart beat with the doppler and the poor girl was in bits, everything was fine at her scan! They are just crap to be honest.

When i was over in Tri 1 and 2 lots of ladies had dopplers. They are good and lovely to listen. BUT you have to promise yourself not to worry if you cant find the heartbeat. It took me a week or so (and i tried every day) to find the Heartbeat. It is not easy and the baby is so low down that you may not find it. Even the midwives sometimes don't check until 25 weeks because they don't want to worry ladies if they don't find them.

I have the angel sounds one was £19.99 on ebay brand new and works a treat! After finding the heartbeat once and knowing what noises are around it, it is much easier to find :) xx

If you're a worrier, bbee, I'd actually recommend you don't buy a doppler. The MW won't listen for a heartbeat until your 16 week appointment. It's notoriously difficult to use them and find baby's heartbeat, especially early on.

I couldnt recommend the Angel Sounds one enough!!

Brand new ur talking £20..
But i got mine 2nd hand off ebay for £1!!!! BARGAIN! xxx

I couldnt recommend the Angel Sounds one enough!!

Brand new ur talking £20..
But i got mine 2nd hand off ebay for £1!!!! BARGAIN! xxx