Doctors appointment

dollface79

Reaction score
I have my first doctors appointment tonight at 7pm... as i have never done this before i'm nervous as hell! What should i expect?

Is it with a midwife? If so it'll just be your booking in appointment. She'll probably go through a booklet with you just asking general questions about the baby, your health, the father of the child etc. Nothing to worry about :)

No it's with a normal doctor.. i assume he will just refer me to a midwife? I have no clue lol

well at least he will do nowt but refer you to a mw and have a lil chat about what u want to do.
at most he will do a urine test and then refer you to a mw lol.

That's ok then, my other half is trying to freak me out i think saying he's going to do hundreds of tests on me!!!

When I went to my docs the first time I was asked about my dates and what hospital I want to go to. She gave me a magazine and said about the most important bits to read I.e. diet. And she referred me to my midwife which I got a letter through the door. She also explained where my midwife was based. :)

I didn't even see a doctor, I just rang my GP surgery and said I was pregnant so needed to book in with midwife, so the receptionist booked me in with her straight away.

I doubt the doctor will do much with you today, probably just say 'OK I will refer you to Midwife'.
Nothing to worry about :D

I saw dr today he just filled out paperwork to get me into the system! And booked next app with midwife!

i seen doc today had to see them before being referred to midwife, she took my blood pressure, checked my heart beat, poked my tummy a lil and asked me when was my last period, metioned do and dont but have looked into this anyway and said she was going to write letter to midwife but i asked if i could phone midwife tomoz to get the ball moving quicker so she gave me contact details. let us know how you get on xxx