Do you feed on demand

Discussion in 'Baby & Toddler' started by positivity :), Dec 16, 2011.

1. positivity :)

positivity :) Well-Known Member

..or at set intervals? I know lo is only a few days old but up until today we have been feeding about every 4 hours but today he was suddenly demanding a lot more so we just gave him when he demanded but I feel a bit like we are over feeding and there is no routine? Xx

2. Cantstop

Cantstop Well-Known Member

I fed on demand, I was breast feeding though and I assume you're formula feeding - I would just feed him as much and as often as he wants at the mo, maybe do set times etc a bit later. Every baby is different and he might want more than the suggested amounts/times - saying that though I have no experience with formula feeding so might be overlooking some important reason not to do that.

3. Cantstop

Cantstop Well-Known Member

Oh and also, he's so little still, don't worry about routines yet, that will sort itself out in weeks to come x

4. littlemiss83

littlemiss83 Well-Known Member

Its not possible to over feed a baby! - They puke up what they don't need. If he pukes alot then stop, if not then keep going, he obvs needs it.

I think they all kinda just feed on demand for the first week or so. He could maybe be sucking for comfort?

:)

5. Amy_J

Amy_J Well-Known Member

I bf and ff on demand! Your lo will find his own routine in time! Time changed from two hr intervals, to three or four, i could never anticipate the next feed iykwim. Xoxoxo

6. LilyMac

LilyMac Well-Known Member

I fed on demand to begin with then Aiden just got himself into a routine.
    Like little miss said, if they have too much they just bring it back up x

7. Roo3

Roo3 Well-Known Member

I still feed on demand. He'll normally go 3-4 hours between feeds though. Like the others have said you can't overfeed a baby, they take what they need and will puke up anything extra!

8. positivity :)

positivity :) Well-Known Member