Do you feed on demand

positivity :)

Reaction score
..or at set intervals? I know lo is only a few days old but up until today we have been feeding about every 4 hours but today he was suddenly demanding a lot more so we just gave him when he demanded but I feel a bit like we are over feeding and there is no routine? Xx

I fed on demand, I was breast feeding though and I assume you're formula feeding - I would just feed him as much and as often as he wants at the mo, maybe do set times etc a bit later. Every baby is different and he might want more than the suggested amounts/times - saying that though I have no experience with formula feeding so might be overlooking some important reason not to do that.

Oh and also, he's so little still, don't worry about routines yet, that will sort itself out in weeks to come x

Its not possible to over feed a baby! - They puke up what they don't need. If he pukes alot then stop, if not then keep going, he obvs needs it.

I think they all kinda just feed on demand for the first week or so. He could maybe be sucking for comfort?

:)

I bf and ff on demand! Your lo will find his own routine in time! Time changed from two hr intervals, to three or four, i could never anticipate the next feed iykwim. Xoxoxo

I fed on demand to begin with then Aiden just got himself into a routine.
Like little miss said, if they have too much they just bring it back up x

I still feed on demand. He'll normally go 3-4 hours between feeds though. Like the others have said you can't overfeed a baby, they take what they need and will puke up anything extra!

I'm still feeding on demand 11 weeks on! Guess they just eat when they are hungry/thirsty. We do have a kind of 2-3 hourly pattern though but not always!

6 months and still feeding on demand here! X

Sent from my BlackBerry 8900 using Tapatalk