Do I need to chase the doctors?

ceriannbrown

Reaction score
Hi everyone! Have just spent a while reading through everyone's posts about when they go to the midwife and antenatal appointments etc.

So:

* found out I was pregnant at 7 weeks (slow of me yes!) - went straight to docs
* he said a midwife would be phoning. I was still in shock from finding out i was pregnant and didn't bother to ask when i could be expecting this call
* I am now 8 weeks 1 day and wondering - when are they likely to phone?

I am new to all of this and get worried when i see people at 6 weeks with appointments booked for their 10th week etc.

When do you all think I should start to panic and start harassing them?

I just feel a phone call by now would have put my mind at ease. It's a stressful time really and I will need to find out if I need to take time off work etc for it. (Also trying to move out of our rental house to the bf's mum's for a few months to have a mortgage by October! house viewings crazy and bank visit mad atm).

In other news I have never been more tired in my life. Constant light headedness and snoozing. Dreading back to work on monday!

Any advice and words of wisdom appreciated as always :)

Last edited:
Call your doctors and chase it up. I have appointment for 8+2 so i'd get onto them

I'd ring you have nothing to lose. I didn't see my midwife until I was 11+5 x

Definitely give them a ring. My booking appointment with midwife is at 13 weeks xxx

I didn't see mine until I was 13 weeks on their books either x

Oh and they rang me the day before to schedule an appointment so I wasn't even told in advance!

I would call them. I think every area is different, but where I live they do booking appointment at 8 weeks, then book in scan for 12 weeks, and you go from there. I had to chase them up to get an appointment.