date for induction

Kimbo

Reaction score
when do they give you a date for induction?

i have midwife 2 more times now before i'm due. i have her tomorrow morning and then again next wednesday.
at next weeks appointment, ill only have 4 days until my due date, so do they give you a date for induction then, or do you go back again when you're past your due date?

When I was a week overdue my midwife booked my induction. I would have been 42+1 but I didn't need it in the end. What surprised me was how far in advance people book inductions - why? Anything between 37 and 42 weeks is considered a normal time for baby to arrive. There's not a lot of point in booking one before your due date, just in case! I had a very long and difficult birth which eventually resulted in a section and then high dependency ward for me and SCBU for baby, but strangely it wasn't a very painful experience. Everything I have read about inductions says they are painful - I wouldn't be looking to plan one unless all other options have been explored.

My induction was booked when I was a week overdue and it was for 12 days over. I don't think they book it until you have gone over.

I had mine booked with Aimee at 38 weeks for when I was 40+11 but I think it was only cos I had an appointment with the consultant.
With Nathan it was booked when I was 3 days over for 40+14 and the gave me a sweep at the same time. I never needed it though.

mine was 3 days after my due date i think (didnt need it tho hehe) i think it was booked from about 7 months preg but cant remember exactly sorry

I was 40 + 5 which was a Thursday when they booked my induction for Tia... for the following Wednesday... but I ended up popping on the Sunday at 41+1. :) Usually you don't make it to the induction date, which is why they don't tend to book the induction until you are actually over your due date.