Concerned about a letter from work

FirstBabyEek

Reaction score
Hi ladies,

I've received a letter from my boss asking me to contact him about my return to work. I'm a little surprised to get the letter as I'm not due to return to work until mid sept and in my maternity letter that I gave to him in April 2012 I suggested that we meet early Sept to discuss, which he agreed to.

I'm now just a little concerned about the reasons he's contact me.

A bit of background - he was foul to me whilst I was pregnant, he literally ignored me for months and i would be lucky to get a grunt out of him. He was grumpy about the fact that I couldn't do as much of the physical work that I had been as it meant reduced fees for the company (I was a building surveyor so out on site, climbing scaffolding etc etc) One day he asked me to find some info from an email in his computer and I found a load of emails that he had send to our accountants and financial advisors asking what the legal ramifications would be if he shut the company down the day after I left on maternity leave and started up a new company, did he still have to pay me SMP etc. I was seething but I was 37 weeks pregnant at the time and didn't need/want the hassle. I'm only on SMP so he's paying NOTHING extra out of his pocket.

As some of you know I'm in the Middle East at the moment and all being well I don't intend to go back to work. Buuuut, if things don't go well out here in the next three months I might need my job in the UK to go back to.

I'm reluctant to tell him that as I know he's looking for a way not to pay me the holiday that I've accrued during my ML.

Can any of you give me any advise as to how I play this one as he's expecting me to call him tomorrow to discuss?

Thanks ladies in advance xxx

Hmm I'm sure theyre not supposed to approach you about return to work? sure my boss said something along those lines when we went in.