Cloth Nappies

tweetyfoo

Reaction score
I've been thinking about this a lot, and wish I had started with cloth:doh:

Aaron is 10 months now - its in not economical to start now?

Also, I am completely clueless about the, - a complete novice!

What does wearing a cloth nappy involve? How do they work?

How many nappies do you need? Then do they just have inserts?

Can you buy the nappies second hand (or is that disgusting?)

How long will the nappies last them? I imagine Aaron will be in nappies a little while longer than typical babies (that's what I'm planning for anyway)

Can someone break it down into lamens terms for me please?

We started with cloth nappies when our LO was around 5 months because before that she was just too tiny (smallest disposables came up around her armpits!!), so I don't think it matters when you start if you want to use them.

What we did was we got the Mothercare reusable nappies set, which comes with a bucket to soak them in and some nappy soak and is reasonably priced. I think it also came with nappy liners. You use the nappy liners on top of the nappy on the inside so when it's a dirty nappy it can be disposed of and there's less on the cloth to be dealing with.

The plastic pants that came with the set were absolute rubbish, so we got waterproof covers from Cotton Baby (brand was Nature Babies, one size cover, which is completely adjustable and lasts ages in terms of size). The covers can be machine washed with the nappies.

The Mothercare nappies lasted reasonably well, but if you're thinking long term, it's probably best to buy the best cloth you can afford as they tend to be thicker and bigger and so soak up things better!

Folding the nappy's the fun part!!! I think there are other options with reusable that are pre-folded, but we went with the traditional terry towelling ones.

I wouldn't have personally bought the nappies secondhand.

Good luck with it x