Cheap strips

Peony1

Reaction score
Hi,
I’ve never used ovulation tests before and I was thinking about buying some cheap ones from amazon (they have good reviews). Does anyone have any experience with these? Or is it better to pay more for the branded ones?
Also, I’ve read that you need to take the tests at 2pm...is that true? I’m always at work at that time so I can’t see how I could do it without anyone seeing me get the tests out before I go to the bathroom!!!
Thanks x

Hi Peony :) are you looking at the One Step tests? I've used them for ovulation and pregnancy tests and found them to be good! I'm absolutely no expert though so don't hold me to this.. But I read that the optimum time to take the OPKs is between 10am and 2pm. Cant remember the reasoning but if you take them at the same time each day I'm guessing you'll get a more reliable picture of what's happening. I did them daily for 2 months and tracked cm and then I could pinpoint roughly when I was ovulating :) some people get a darker line than the control and others only get faint lines...so it's different for everyone :) I'd get some tests and do 1 a day for a cycle - I stuck mine to a piece of paper like a bar chart haha! Good luck!! Xxx

Yeah, those are the ones! Maybe if that’s the case, then I can go and take the tests straight after lunch... just not very good at poas so I’ll have to practice that :lol:

The cheap strip tests aren't poas though, you need to pee into a clean container and use them as dip tests. I've found the ovulation ones to be really good, just remember that you will get a faint line throughout your whole cycle because you will always have LH in your system, but you get a surge when you are about to ovulate, at which point you get a good solid dark pink line. :)

Oh no, well I’m definitely not peeing in a cup at work! I’ve already ordered them though! Do you know if I could test at about 4.30pm with those strips?