Changing careers

Tangerinedream

Reaction score
I have always wanted to do something medical oriented, when I was little it was nursing and when I left uni I wanted to train as a paramedic, however I some how ended up training as a housing officer (such is life :roll: ) Its a good job but I just dont enjoy it enough and definately dont want to do it for the rest of my life.

I was my sisters birth partner and saw my nephew being born... it was amazing. I was asking the midwifes about how they liked their jobs and one said she had been with her sister when she gave birth and decided she wanted to become a midwife. I have been thinking for a while that this is what I would love to do and I already have a biology based degree so im not a complete noob to it lol

Having just had a baby I think its an ideal time of my life to do something like this. The only problem being financial commitments. I have a mortgage and loan which are my main commitments :evil: I am definately not afraid of the hard work aspect

I want to hear from other people who have overcome this obsticle and have managed to take their career in another direction and how you found it, financially and whether it was worth it.

Hiya,

I'm sorta in the same boat as you, after having my son, I realised that I didnt want to go back to working in a boring office, I done a Business Degree which I found really boring, but I was good at it, so found it very easy, yet I hated all the jobs I had, all too repetitive.
I've just started a open learning course in Child Psychology, its sooo interesting, I am very glad I have done it. I feel like I'm actually doing something with my life for me as opposed to my son or hubby, as I'm doing it open uni way it will take a while to complete and I know I'll need 'work experience' so I'm aiming to have it completed by the time Reece is at school and any other babies I may have had are here!I'm keeping my eyes open for any part time jobs that may 'look good' as having done.