breastfeeding and give water too?

leanne

Reaction score
hiya ladies, just looking for advice. im breastfeeding zack and find it all easy but was talking to some "older" women about my feeding routine and they looked shocked when i said i didnt give zack water during the day. thing is i havent been told to do so by either the hospital when i was in or my midwife or my hv. they looked at me almost in disgust (which i hate, how the blody hell am i supposed to know what to do im new to this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!) so i was just woundering if i am meant to give him water? i just thought he would get all his liquid intake from my milk?! feel really stupid. sick of telling people things only for them to tut and make me feel like im 12 years old. was tutted at by my gran of all people coz i have zack in bed with me at night coz i find that easier to feed him and get some sleep. another thing i passed my son over to my gran so she could hold him and she told me to watch his head, watch his head? eh, like id intentionally hurt or put my babies neck at risk. aaarrrrrrrrrrgggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh sorry. got a bit carried away didnt i? i could have strangled her, didnt help that i was hormonal that day but i managed to keep my mouth buttoed, miracle for me! anyway back to the topic in hand as rant is over! anyone been there?!

Hi Leanne

Glad to hear things are going well on the breastfeeding front.

I was only told to give Olivia some cooled boiled water by the midwife after I had given her a bottle of formula one night and Olivia seemed to be constipated the following day. I gave it to her that time but haven't since.