Breast feeding

Discussion in 'Second Trimester' started by Ttc1234, Mar 27, 2016.

1. Ttc1234

Ttc1234 Well-Known Member

Can anyone give advice or recommend products for breast feeding? This is my first so no idea what I've to buy/what's recommended. Thanks

2. tootie

tootie Well-Known Member

The only thing I would recommend is lansinoh nipple cream, godsend! And lots of breast pads x

Depends if you're planning on expressing but ideally in the first few weeks at least you exclusively breast feed to avoid nipple confusion. The medela breast pump is meant to be very good but I have no personal experience with it x

3. Sarah85e

Sarah85e Well-Known Member

Yes the nipple cream is a must and breast pads. With the breast pads you get what you pay for, some of he cheaper products where useless. we introduced a bottle at 7 weeks to get her used to drinking from a bottle. Just one every few days. So I expressed using the tommee tippee manual pump. I tried the electric one and it didn't work.

I personally would wait and see how you get on with breastfeeding before buying pumps etc.

4. El1en

El1en Well-Known Member

Great to see you're giving breast feeding a go!

The other girls are right lots of cream and pads. I used the lasinoh one and its great. Anything with lanolin in is best. I used tesco pads and had no issues.

After 35 weeks it would be worth going to mothercare and getting fitted for some comfy nursing bras, I also used a cushion for feeding in the early days as my Lo would be on for ages and the cushion helped us both get comfy.

I bought a medela swing pump and started expressing a bit at 4 weeks pp, either so I could freeze it and use it in porridge when Lo was bigger or for a bottle on a day out. The pump and bits (including bottles) came to about £120, expensive but in my mind well worth it

Have a look and see if there's a support group in your area. I got on great and didn't go to the group but I know a lot of people have found them helpful