Boss won't let me go to scans

Laura1992

Reaction score
Soo my delightful boss (female, has three young children herself) has congratulated me on my pregnancy, and informed me that I will not be allowed anytime off for scans. I'm in Hong Kong, so although it's technically not legal for her to do this, everything is very pro-employer out here.

Just thought I'd have a moan. I've decided to quit and move back to the UK anyway now (oh, and she won't accept my resignation either, but there isn't much she can do once I hop on the plane)!

Hope others have better luck with telling work about pregnancy. I think I've just been very unlucky.

You have to stand up for yourself- I've never asked, I only inform. What can she do about it if you came late or left early for a scan? Sounds like she does want you to stay so don't get bullied!

I'm not one to get bullied, but I'm a teacher, so it's actually quite irresponsible if I just don't turn up. I wouldn't be able to do that without knowing that there was cover available. I've told her my first scan date, and her response was "It just won't be possible".

I am set on leaving anyway, as it's just getting miserable out here with the heat, and my sickness is really bad to the point where I'm running into empty classrooms to be sick multiple times per day. I'm also working 6 days per week.

Oh that doesn't sound like fun. Hope you make the right decision that makes you happy xx

Last edited:
It's her job to provide cover. Send an email informing her of your scan dates and times.

So sorry to hear that Laura. :-( Will you be able to rearrange the scan for a time when you don't have lessons? Does she have a boss over her you can go to?

Sent from my SM-G850F using Tapatalk