BFP after chemical last month, low betas...

emcayo

Reaction score
I had a very disappointing chemical last month after TTC for 17 months. Now I am pregnant again, but my 14dpo beta hcg was only 55 which the nurse said was a little low. So now I'm readying myself (and husband) for another chemical. This level is higher than last month by double, but still when researching online it seems like all women have hcg levels 150+ at this point. Already sad about this and don't even want to get second betas done on Thursday.

Has anyone else had numbers like these and gone on to have a normal pregnancy? I feel like I'm being punished, or the butt of a cruel joke by the universe. Dangling these positive HPTs in my face and ripping them out of my hands a few days later.

Firstly, sorry for your loss. I know first hand how heartbreaking it is.

I've no first hand experience with low betas but I have done a lot of reading around them. Some women can have clinical low betas but go on to have a normal and healthy pregnancy. Each woman is different and so will the hcg, it's not so much what the numbers are but more that they double every 48 hours. So, as long as your betas at least double by your next draw there is nothing to say that you can't and won't have a healthy pregnancy.

Keep us posted, wishing you lots of luck xxx

Firstly, sorry for your loss. I know first hand how heartbreaking it is.

I've no first hand experience with low betas but I have done a lot of reading around them. Some women can have clinical low betas but go on to have a normal and healthy pregnancy. Each woman is different and so will the hcg, it's not so much what the numbers are but more that they double every 48 hours. So, as long as your betas at least double by your next draw there is nothing to say that you can't and won't have a healthy pregnancy.

Keep us posted, wishing you lots of luck xxx