Avoiding Things When TTC?

ToriElla

Reaction score
I was just wondering if people are avoiding certain things incase they are pg - ie sunbeds and situps etc.

I'm going on holiday in June and I wanted to go on he sunbed a little first and tone up but i'm worried incase I fall pg and it might cause problems.

Vicky xx

Hi

I have heard that you shouldnt use sunbeds while pregnant but I think sit ups are ok. Natural sun is ok, but I wouldnt use a sun bed if you think you might be pregnant just to be safe. I'm no expert but hope I have helped a little...

Kim xx

I too like to use the sunbeds but have stopped using them as much since I have been TTC. I only go on when I know I am defo not PG so when my Af has turned up, then I stop during the month as I know that they advise you not to if PG.

Yeah that's alot of help! Thanks :)

Have you stopped eating certain foods aswell?

The 'dodgy' foods I know you are supposed to avoid in the 1st 3 months of pregnancy - although not sure if it means you need to avoid whilst trying :?: are things like:

Soft eggs (i.e. yolk to be cooked fully however you have them)
Soft cheeses (Brie, Camembert etc.)
Peanuts

Hi

Also you are supposed to avoid liver and pate when PG as it contains too much iron.

Kim xx

Hi again

No I haven't started to avoid foods as such although I have heard that the foods which others have mentioned should be avoided when actually PG. I have started to eat healthier since TTC and have also cut down on alcohol, however DH and I went out on Sat night for a meal and ended up staying out for drinks till late and since I was on Af I had a fair few vodkas!!!!

Haha how many is a fair few :wink:

I hadn't heard about liver and pate but i don't like those anyway :D

Does feta count amongst the soft cheeses?? I hope not :(

Unfortunately Feta is off the menu too - but as I said this is more for when preggers rather than trying.