Appointments?

Skidoo

Reaction score
How often should I be seeing the midwife now?

I had an appt at end of Sept with the endocrinologist (for low thyroid condition) and don't have another appt until 8 December. I thought I was supposed to see someone - nurse/midwife - every 4 weeks up to 28 weeks, but when I phoned to ask, the receptionist was really unhelpful and wouldn't make an appt unless I knew who I was supposed to see. And I don't know, I've never done this before!

Any advice ladies?

Hi there

not sure if it's something that varies from area to area but where I am I see the midwife at my doctors surgery every 4 wks until I'm 28 weeks which is when it changes to be every 2 wks until 36 wks when it becomes weekly. I've also got an apointment at 28 weeks for blood checks (but that's held at a different place).

Each time I see a MW she tells me to go to reception after the appointment and book another for x amount of wks time.

HTH

Lucy

Hi there

not sure if it's something that varies from area to area but where I am I see the midwife at my doctors surgery every 4 wks until I'm 28 weeks which is when it changes to be every 2 wks until 36 wks when it becomes weekly. I've also got an apointment at 28 weeks for blood checks (but that's held at a different place).

Each time I see a MW she tells me to go to reception after the appointment and book another for x amount of wks time.

HTH

Lucy
26 + 3

Hi

On my first ever appointment I received a pack with the bounty book in it and it had all the notes I would need all the way up to labour.

near the back it had an A4 sheet of paper listing all the appointments I would be going to. Such as 25 weeks - gp appointment, 28 weeks - midwife appointment etc etc. At this point you should soon be moving to appointments which are 2 or 3 weeks apart, depending on where you live.

Hope this helps

The rule is - every 4 weeks till 26 weeks then every 2 weeks till 36 weeks then every week till birth!!