Any advice or support appreciated..

Status
Not open for further replies.

BettyHoop

Reaction score
Hi all.

I'm new to this. The pregnancy and forum! I'm only 5 weeks pregnant. It's very unexpected and I'm struggling to get my head round it all. I'm 32 years old and have been with my current partner for only 8 months, we live happily together and I have no previous children.

A bit of background - When I was 16 and with my first partner I fell pregnant. This relationship was physically abusive and without going into all the awful detail I gave birth to a stillborn at about 5 months and had to have surgery to remove etc. I got out of that relationship a few years later and it wasn't until I met someone at 25 that I thought about starting a family properly, he was 14 years older than me and was very insistent so after only 4 months together I came off the contraceptive pill (which I had been on since 17) we tried for a year and a half with no luck and that led to the relationship breaking down.

At this point the idea started to enter my head that maybe I was having fertility issues. Only three months after the end of this relationship I met my next partner and what ensued was a very similar story. Towards the end of this one I really started to become emotionally unstable at the thought that I could not have children naturally and ended up having an emotional breakdown. The last relationship ended very badly with a fair amount of emotional abuse involved (I know, falling in love with bad boy syndrome!) So this added to my emotional state.

In the nearly four years in between these two relationships and the emotional breakdown, and the one I am in now I ended up having unprotected sex with lots of men around my fertile times. I was desperate. Nothing ever happened. I did this for about a year and then sought help for my mental state from the NHS (who I cannot praise enough) and and stopped having intimate relations with anyone and tried to find peace.