An introduction

SockVortex

Reaction score
Hi! I’m SockVortex :) Happy to go by Socks or Tex if it’s too long to write!

I’m a 32 year old newly wed living in Kingston-Upon-Thames in a beautiful art deco flat and I work as a graphic designer in central London.

This is our first month trying for a baby and I’ve been rapidly oscilating between hopeful excitement and convincing myself that it’s never going to work. My cycles have always been a bit peculiar, anywhere between 29-38 days (though generally 29-33) so predicting ovulation is going to be tricky! I’m currently on my third day of flashy smilies with the Clear Blue Ovulation thingy.

Fun fact: I have Autism Spectrum Disorder which is going to make my journey to parenthood a little more stressful than a neurotypical I think!

Nice to meet everyone!

Hi nice to meet you. I don't understand the clear blue smilies but if it's saying your fertile then make sure your jumping your husband at every chance.
Art deco flat is like a dream for me does it still have original features ? I live in a boring modern flat.

Mostly yes! The fireplace is intact though the floo is closed off so we can’t use it :( I hugged it when I first saw it, lol. We have a little coal store in the kitchen too :)

We’re slowly decorating to make it more inkeeping with the era of the flat :) Thankfully we have an understanding landlord!

Do you go to vintage events? We do re-enactment too :)

Last edited:
I haven't been to any yet but plan to this coming summer hoping to at least go to one are you on the group's on fb for vintage stuff I'm on a few but don't post on them very often.
At least your landlord is understanding that you want to bring the beauty out in the flat I can't wait to get a house so I can have my vintage dressing room.
I love 1940s fashion and history but haven't done any real reenacting I would love to though but need to find a group first