Advice on how having a baby may affect step children

Chelle

Reaction score
Hi there,

Looking for some advice regarding my step daughter who is 9 and an only child for both her mum & dad. She is a lovely little girl and we get on really well and spend lots of time together as both a family and just the 2 of us on 'girly' days.

Me and DH have just started TTC and I'm concerned as to how this may affect her. She is very spoilt by both families and spends a lot of time with adults, so I am worried that when a new baby comes along she may be jealous.

Has anyone out there been in this situation? What age were your step children and how did it affect them? Is there a good age??? Did a baby affect your relationship with your step child? (Sorry for all the questions)

I'm not even pregnant yet but this has been troubling me and I would love to hear your thoughts on the matter.

Thanks and Happy New Year to all :D

I have no direct experience of this but my friend is pregnant and has 2 step children ages 9 and 13. They are both girls, and she was also worried about telling them. They are both absolutely over the moon at the prospect of a new brother or sister, though :)

Hi

Me and my Oh both have one child each from previous relationships and they have both been fine so far with my pregnancy.
We told them straight away and they have both been really excited my son is almost 12 and OH's son is 7 I try to involve them in things, they both love talking to my tummy and feeling him kick.

I wouldn't worry too much and just take things as they come I was really worried about it causing problems but so far we have been lucky.

Give me a couple of weeks and I'll tell you :rotfl: