_

angelj

Reaction score
Editing this so he doesn't get upset

Last edited:
What an awful situation, I'm so sorry.
I have no personal experience but do work with people who have been abused. It is true that a high proportion of abusers have been abused but that in no way goes to say that someone who has been abused will go on to abuse! There are lots of other factors involved including future experiences and relationships, which it very much sounds like your partner has had positive experience of with you.
It is totaly understandable that he would be finding things very difficult right now and all I can suggest is that you encourage him to think about how he is going to feel if he was to abandon you and your child and support him to get professional help. A psychotherapist would be able to help him come to terms with his past experiences and recognise that he can be the dad it sounds like you believe he can xx

Last edited:
Often the beginning of any therapeutic process is the hardest, as people open up without having developed the coping strategies they need. It sounds like he is doing the right thing in getting professional help and perhaps just needs a bit of time to work things through. I'd really try not to worry that his behaviour is anything to do with his feelings towards you, this is a really difficult situation he is trying to come to terms with but it sounds like he is on the right track and once the baby is born I'm sure he will be able to connect and relate to it as his child rather than the potential risk he is obviously scard of it being at the moment xx

Last edited:
Just give him time, he is helpless in this situation because he didn't choose it and he now needs your support to come to terms with it xx

Does he now know that you forgot your pill and still engaged in intercourse?