10 Days overdue/Sweep...............

scousegit

Reaction score
Im a week overdue and midwife has booked me in on Thursday for a sweep and im simply dreading it! Not so much the sweep but they have told me they will book me in that night or following morning for an induction and I am pooing myself! I had to get induced with my first as there was maconium in my waters and i found the whole drip thing and stuck to a bed horrendous and terribly painful. If I have to get induced again would it be with the gels? If so, what are they like? I just need some advice as am getting myself all worked up! Wish Babe would just pop out naturally but he seems as happy as larry in there! Any advice greatly appreciated! Thanks :D

cant you ask your midwife to sweep you before?

you can always refuse an induction.. or ask to wait a little longer..

well i did mention that to her but she said its only done here at term +10.

Suppose i could wait but its a lesser of two evils..do i wait or get it over and done with...Im fed up of being the size of a hippo...! Suppose ive got to just decide which i dread more!

I had my sweep at t+9 and had ryan t+10. my induction was booked for t+12 so I got away with it. I was told when i had my sweep that if I did have to wait until being induced I was already 1-2cm dilated so would only need waters broken and no pessary etc... but I don't know how that works in different hospitals/different situations.

You can refuse an induuction but be very carefull, I know a lady who refused induction and at 42 weeks the baby died inside her because the placenta stopped functioning. She was being monitored daily but by the time they realised there was a problem it was too late. I don't want to scare anyone but it can happen.

Alfie
xx

I hope baby makes an apperance before for you. :hug: